Feb 27, 2024  
Fall 2021 Catalog 
Fall 2021 Catalog FINAL VERSION - Closed for Revisions

Graduate Certification Programs in Reading: Reading Teacher (316) Certification

This major is administered by the School of Education Office of Graduate Studies & Professional Development .

You may complete this certification as a specialization in the Education, M.S.E.  by enrolling as a graduate special student and pursuing certification only.

NOTE: You must have two years of successful regular classroom teaching experience in addition to the coursework for certification.

To receive certification you must earn 9 prerequisite credits (6 from Area A and 3 from Area B) as described below. You can take them at the graduate or undergraduate level, but if you are applying the credits to a master’s degree, they must be at the graduate level. Before you take EDUC 741  you must take EDUC 309 , EDUC 310 , EDUC 386 /EDUC 586 , or ENGL 381 /ENGL 581  (for English majors). In addition, you need 13 credits from Area C below.



The United States Department of Education requires institutions that provide distance education to disclose information for programs leading to professional certification or licensure about whether each program meets state educational requirements for initial licensure or certification. Following is this disclosure information for this program:

The requirements of this program meet Certification/Licensure in the following states:


The requirements of this program do not meet Certification/Licensure in the following states:

Not applicable

The requirements of this program have not been determined if they meet Certification/Licensure in the following states:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming; District of Columbia; American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands

Area A, 6 credits

Take one course from each group.


Area C courses must be earned within a seven-year period (starting with the beginning of the term the course was approved for your Program of Study).

State Mandated Tests

Pass the state-mandated Foundations of Reading Test. Teachers who have a Wisconsin “lifetime license” are not required to meet this requirement.

State Teacher Licensing Rules

Meet state teacher licensing rules which are subject to change at any time due to legislative or licensing changes.